Easy yellow cake [by Victoria]

When it comes to cake, I would rather spend my time decorating than actually baking. I see the cake itself as a canvas. When an artist wishes to paint, he or she only has to go to a store to purchase supplies. But when I feel like decorating, I have to start with the basics of baking and make my own canvas. So when I find an easy recipe, I feel elated. And this recipe has just a few, simple ingredients that it is easier to make this than to run to the store and purchase a boxed mix.

Easy Yellow Cake

1 3/4 cup sugar
2/3 cup butter
2 eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/4 cups whole milk, room temperature

In a large bowl, beat sugar and butter until fluffy. Add one egg at a time and beat well. Add vanilla. In a separate bowl, whisk flour, baking powder and salt. Add to the creamed mixture alternatively with milk until well mixed. Pour batter into prepared cake pans (see Tips for baking your cake entry) or cupcake tins. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes (time based on using 2 8″ round tins). Cool for ten minutes then turn out onto cooling racks for an hour.

I managed to make 2 dozen cupcakes with this recipe.

20121118-121845.jpg

One thought on “Easy yellow cake [by Victoria]

Leave a Reply

